It's My Party And I Will Cry If I Want To


I am happy to see that Obama rushed back to Washington from Chicago to sign that “spendulus” bill. Oh, wait. He still has to fly over to Denver before he takes pen to paper. Let’s see. No one had time to read it because it was crucial that it be signed on Friday, then the president flies out to “Chi-Town”, the bill sits around waiting for the golden ink, our Nancy is in Rome (flew out Friday evening)…Yah! I see the urgency.

Even though some of Obama’s governmental wizards are saying that this might not work it still passed. Now we wait, (I am sure most with baited breath), for Obama to sign this fiasco, in Denver. “Sir, how much do these little venture, in Air Force One, cost us, the tax payers?”

To quote our brilliant leader-

“Congress has passed my economic recovery plan — an ambitious plan at a time we badly need it,” he said in his weekly radio address delivered during his first trip home to Chicago since assuming the presidency. “This is a major milestone on our road to recovery.”

Did he say “my” economic recovery plan? Was it not Nancy’s, Harry’s- and for the like of me I can’t think of the other geniuses name-so called recovery plan and not Obama’s?

And let us not forget that today is the deadline for GM and Chrysler to present their plans to the government to get (gotta get me some) more money from the government and to prove that they are capable of repaying back billions of dollars more in loans. GM and Chrysler are going to be asking for more than what was expected. “The conditions of the loans require the automakers to get concessions from their unions, debtholders, dealers, and others, to help the companies become viable.”

Are the unions cooperating? Not on your life! Nevertheless, fear not you selfish fat cats, money grubbers and cooperate CEO’s. Our government will probably give to you, the automakers and their antagonists (the union), the money just the same. After all, Obama and cohorts/congressional benefactors owe the unions a debt of gratitude.

Also in the news-Effective on May 11, 2009, the postage of a one-ounce first-class mail will be 44 cents, up from the current price of 42 cents. It will cost the average household $3.00 more a years. I got an idea. How about if the U.S. Postal Service negotiates with the postal unions and asks some of their workers to take a small, a really teeny-tiny, cut in pay and benefits. I know that $3.00 a year doesn’t sound like much, but now we have to contend with the rising cost of gasoline even though a barrel of oil is at it’s lowest in a while. The fix is in on this one. Now I know just what I will be doing with that $13.00 then $8.00 a week stimulus/tax cut…spending it on gasoline and postage stamps-SO FAR!

I should note that I have been a life long “cafeteria” Democrat (center-right Democrat). Or should I be calling myself a Centrist? I have supported the unions and have been a union sister in my past employment. I wasn’t thrilled with the recent presidential candidates and didn’t feel that I had a choice or a voice as to who was running. When I was given my menu I didn’t see anything that would sate my palate. So, I made my own menu and chose from there.

One thought on “It's My Party And I Will Cry If I Want To

  1. For anyone who thinks they understand the correlation between the Great Depression and what is happening today, I strongly suggest they read The Forgotten Man by Amity Shlaes. She is a leading scholar on the Depression and it scares the hell out of me!

Leave a Reply

