The Omnibus Is Taking Us For A Ride


omnibus-
1 : a usually automotive public vehicle designed to carry a large number of passengers : bus
2 : a book containing reprints of a number of works

and or

omnibus-
1 : of, relating to, or providing for many things at once
2 : containing or including many items <an omnibus bill>

An omnibus spending bill is a bill that sets the budget of many departments of the United States government at once. It is one possible outcome of the budget process in the U.S.

I tried reading the bill H.R. 1105 FY 2009, better known as The ‘Omnibus’ spending bill. 2009. I wanted to stick a hot poker in my eye.  There is too much in there to read it from the computer and so very boring.  This bill is only good until September 2009 then it starts all over again.  This bill is almost 6 months past due. Last year Congress couldn’t come to an agreement as to how the money should be appropiated.  How quaint that it waited until a new administration came then it got its teeth. I seriously doubt if our esteemed members of Congress have read the page after page of this bill or if they have ever read any of the bills in the past.

Why should we have to pay for another state’s special interests.  I have nothing to do with Nevada, etc?  I have enough taxes I have to pay here to live in this state.  Why do I want to pay for your crap too. If you don’t like the smell of pig poop then move or raise the money within your state to do something about it. 
 
Why do I even care?  The ‘powers that be’ are going to do what the frig they want regardless of how most of us feel. 

“Power tends to corrupt, and absolute power corrupts absolutely. Great men are almost always bad men.”-John Emerich Edward Dalberg Acton, first Baron Acton (1834–1902)

One thought on “The Omnibus Is Taking Us For A Ride

  1. Liz, This all makes me sick this omnibus bill. I was trying to think of the name of it when writing in the Rush post. Interesting meaning. When I heard the word I was wondering if they picked these names out of hat or what? It’s funny how I don’t think I have paid more attention to politics since 911. Now I am tuned in to what is going on all the time. I don’t ever want to be so oblivious again in my life! I to want to stick a hot poker in my eye, it would hurt much less then this omnibus bill that makes my stomach turn into a million knots.

Leave a Reply

